Celebrate your mentor

If you have an amazing mentor you'd like to acknowledge, applications are now open for the Miriam Dell Award for Excellence in Science Mentoring.

This is the fourth time the Award has been offered – the Award was presented to Dr Judith O’Brien of the University of Auckland in 2013, to Dr Roslyn Kemp of the University of Otago in 2015, and to Dr Vivien Kirk of the University of Auckland in 2017.

The Miriam Dell Award is awarded on a biennial basis to someone who demonstrates outstanding mentoring efforts to retain females in science, mathematics or technology. Nominees can be from any part of the science system from tertiary education onwards – including lecturers or supervisors in tertiary education, or from commercial science-based organisations. They may have mentored, formally or informally, females at any stage in their career – from tertiary students to the science workforce.

Information on how to nominate is available on the awis.org.nz website. Nominations for the 2019 Award close on 30 May.

The Award is named for Dame Miriam Dell, Patron of AWIS, botanist, secondary school teacher and advocate for women’s advancement.