The Miriam Dell Award

In 2013, AWIS launched the Miriam Dell Award for Excellence in Science Mentoring, a biennial prize awarded to someone who demonstrates outstanding mentoring efforts to retain females in science, mathematics or technology.

The recipient of the Miriam Dell Award may be related to any part of the science system, for example teachers at primary or secondary schools, lecturers or supervisors in tertiary education, or in the science workplace. Mentees may also be at any stage in the science system - from school age to the science workforce.

The recipient of the Award will receive a glass trophy and an all-expenses paid trip to receive their award from AWIS.

The award is named for Dame Miriam Dell, Patron of AWIS, botanist, secondary school teacher and advocate for women's advancement.

Miriam Dell Award winners:

2013 Dr Judith O'Brien, University of Auckland
2015 Dr Rosyln Kemp, University of Otago
2017 Dr Vivien Kirk, University of Auckland
2019 Dr Abby Smith, University of Otago
2021 Di Tracey, NIWA
2023 Dr Cate Macinnis-Ng, University of Auckland